The Ovens Valley Electorate

Ovens Valley is an electoral district of the Victorian Legislative Assembly. It was created in the redistribution of electoral boundaries in 2013 and came into effect at the 2014 state election. The electorate was created due to abolition of the Murray Valley and Benalla electorates.

The Ovens Valley electorate has an area of 9628 square kilometres.

The electorate is centred on the Ovens River and stretches from the Victorian Alps north to the Murray River, then west to Cobram.

Industries in the area include tourism, fruit growing and wine making. The Mt Hotham ski resort is in the south-east of the electorate. Natural features include the Alpine and Mount Buffalo National Parks.

The largest towns in the electorate are Wangaratta, Myrtleford, Bright, Cobram and Yarrawonga and include communities in the Rural City of Wangaratta, Moira Shire Council and Alpine Shire Council local government areas.

Towns of the Ovens Valley electorate include:

Bright, Bundalong, Cheshunt, Cobram, Dinner Plain, Eldorado, Glenrowan, Greta, Harrietville, Hotham Heights, Katamatite, King Valley, Milawa, Myrtleford, Oxley, Porepunkah, Springhurst, Tungamah, Wangaratta, Whitfield, Whorouly, Yarrawonga and Yarroweyah.

Agree with Tim’s Vision?

Share this page
and show your support

Created with NationBuilder